hongking's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

At this time I still have Venice and Growth of Nations

But not intending to do Growth.. So venice alone shall take until at most 11.15 which is when i will and shall sleep

10:53 p.m. - 2002-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I just found out that preventing myself from playing games is not sufficient for efficient revision. Just look at my brain. Refuses to cooperate with me. Oh well what to do. Just hope on the days for maths I am in a better condition. Hopefully in the morning when I feel less dizzy...

and in case u tot this page is getting too long, dun worry i will start a new one wif the starting of the Os

7:07 p.m. - 2002-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

hi. using my old computer now... as in win 98 in my win me. nvm u wunt understand. Just now i was downstairs trying to study my SS while it was raining. It was so refreshing! Perhaps I really am not suitable for living in a tropical climate. Temperate? maybe...

Anyway, I was just sitting on the chair with the wind blowing at me from all directions; I had to change the direction I was facing so that my specs did not get wet. Then the rain stopped altogether. I was so surprised, so I decided to walk out to take a look, and then at that very moment, I heard the sound of rain. I had heard it, but I had yet to see it. So I looked up, and oh my god, it was coming soon... I walked back into the shelter and by the time I sat down, the rain had finally hit the floor. I could hear the sound of the raindrops hitting the aluminium cover of a truck, and could also see the splashing of the water in the puddles on the road. For a moment I forgot I was studying (as usual) and I felt like just giving up.

But no! In fact I did so much more downstairs than what I would have done at home. For one simple reason, as you have seen by now. The stupid comp. And I predict I won't be able to use it within a month. Why? Because the hard disk is screwing up; every time I switch on the computer, scan disk pops up, saying that I didnt switch off the computer properly. What utter rubbish. Currently I suspect that the problem lies with my E drive clusters 680,000 to 700,000. some bad clusters there had caused my computer to hang when doing a thorough scan using scan disk. which is why I am using win 98 now... dun understand? nvm

Of course that was until Jia Shen called me, asking me what the most important factors for the rise and decline of venice were respectively. (i brought my cordless phone down, and sadly the reception was not very good so i had to come back up... :( )

And i've been up here since 3.30 i think and i havent done a single thing. see? my room sux.

4:00 p.m. - 2002-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

source: http://www.un.org/aboutun/history.htm

The United Nations officially came into existence on 24 October 1945, when the Charter had been ratified by China, France, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, the United States and by a majority of other signatories. United Nations Day is celebrated on 24 October each year.

And you know what: 24th october was when i was bitten by a dog... :S

must remember that day.

and by the way

i promised i wunt play

because i did say

to keep games at bay

and comfortably lay

on the bed made of hay

if only it's may

den i wunt haf to pay

and i'll have my way

in finishing the day

1:19 p.m. - 2002-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

i think my

merger/sep

sustainable

ni/sl/switz

should be ok

so now it's international conflict+coop

den venice recap

and growth read...

gd luck hk gd luck

10:55 a.m. - 2002-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I finally found out why I am making no progress. It is my guidelines that are forcing me to delay my studying time and again. And it's lucky i found that out too. It struck me when I was finished with bathing that I was too forward-looking. haha. Let me tell myself this, no matter how much I don't want to say it. I am not made to be a leader. Really. I cannot have a big plan and work towards it. No. Do things step by step. The reason? haha thanx to a book i read in the library. (next time must be more careful when following suggestions offered by books). I read that you should never spend too much time on immediate (near) events, because there's always a bigger thing to strive for. Now whether I knew it or not I actually followed it. And it did guide me along well. For example, you haf a test tml and u haf much homework as well due the day after. u spend ur time totally on the test today. u haf little or no time 4 hw. see? so i have overcome that. in other words i oways do the one due on friday b4 the one due on monday. partially to force myself to haf to do all by monday. it used to work.

but now i am tired. i cannot force myself any more. this happened for the prelims. i managed to get results. but it doesnt work any more. luck doesnt come with me to exams every time. so i have to change my strategy. i suddenly realised i haf been forcing myself to do history and geog when i shud be doing SS. and den i end one wasting my time bcos i am seldom able to finish my history and geog cos i think dey are so far away. and i leave no time for ss. see? change hk change.

so just focus for short term

just to tackle the 'O's at least...

gd luck hk on ur strategy change. hope it's not too late

AND HAPPY DEEPAVALI!!!

11:55 p.m. - 2002-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

to all idiots out dere

pls prepare urself b4 reading further. if u r easily offended and u think i've been irritated with you recently, do not read on. cos it will just damage ur gd impression of me.

DO NOT READ FURTHER

(but how are u going to read the rest of the entries then :S)

I am complaining abt the general lousy state of students in RI. really. from what i see. many might not be guilty, but i really must vent out my frustrations.

Chinese lesson on friday. wei ling teaches, as usual, with voices in the background. just cannot keep ur mouth shut when she is speaking issit. ok fine.

i tell u the worst is yet to be

firstly i cannot stand ppl who say, "y bother learning so much when it's not even in the syllabus?" u r guilty of dat. believe me or not, if u want to get gd results, u have to read byond the syllabus. otherwise, u haf no hope, unless u mug ur txtbk word for word.

secondly i DESPISE ppl who think that the whole world is nothing but textbooks. no no no not muggers. i'm not referring to muggers. dun feel guilty, YET. i am referring to those idiots out dere who think that all knowledge is found in only wateva books we are given in school. we were reading a compo and the person wrote the saying (in chinese) "black or white, as long as u can catch mice u r a gd cat" and i heard ppl laffing. i wondered y. dey said. he translated it directly from wendy clark. i just cant believe that came out of a gep's mouth. i cant. i still cant. and i cant. can u? i'm sure u can.

and i am not saying i'm not guilty of dese offences. i am (though not of all) but i tot i wuld just let myself know that i am guilty and try to avoid making dese mistakes. but hey i'm not guilty of number 2. i used to be guilty of number 1 though :$

and finally b4 i go off to bathe, let me say dis: i'm sure dat if u're reading dis (who? who is reading? noone...) you have tried, as you were scrolling down, to deny that u are guilty despite knowing that u r guilty (dat is if u r guilty). friend, u r normal.

and pardon me for my lousy english

11:00 p.m. - 2002-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

---Put mouse HERE. -------------------------------------------------------

9:54 p.m. - 2002-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

How could I be so careless in leaving out this point? I'm too bulliable, and that has been a fact for the past 4 years, but I intend to change it. I will have to be non-bulliable. You ask: How are you going to do that? I reply: No idea, but at least I have that on my agenda...

5:43 p.m. - 2002-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Dear Diary,

I am glad to have removed the "study" department from my brain. As preparations for our house moving goes on, concerns over studies have disappeared magically.

Just yesterday, I felt as though it was the end of everything. Thunderstorms came one after another. Rain fell until nothing was left untouched by the water. At the end of it all, it felt comfortably cool, at a temperature of around 24�C. It seemed as though I was on holiday, and yet, at the same time, I knew I had to worry about the lack of time (as always). So I made the decision to follow the lyrics: "may no worry stay too long".

I looked out of the car window, and saw what I had not seen for ages. The mist over the rainforests was so thick, and it looked very very nice indeed. I liked that view so much that I really hoped it would last forever. Perhaps I like the mysterious feeling it gives, or perhaps I am fascinated with the very fact that it blocks out everything behind to present a simple world. That probably also explains my unusual love for the haze usually resulting from forest fires in Indonesia.

As I entered my fantasy world, I started dreaming about nature once again. Stress and more stress has caused me to wish for retreat to nature yet again. Imagine swimming at Tasik Air Biru, or sleeping in the tent while listening to the cries of the crickets, or even sitting in the middle of the river looking at the water rushing past with a thunderous roar. That is the perfect place to be... Fly there, and be safe... Away from examinations, away from civilisation...

FLY dere...

dere whereva dat might b

where?

hk

4:44 p.m. - 2002-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

haha...

I have been writing in here for quite some time already... Wonder if anyone actually comes and read it besides myself (if there is any point in reading my zi4 yan2 zi4 yu3)

today and tomorrow must be the busiest days of my life when i will try, as much as possible, to write thousands of english and social studies essays...

and if time allows, i might just do chinese and history. no geog. sorry!

i'll be playing for a while later... just hope i dun lose track of time

11:07 a.m. - 2002-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

haha can u believe it?

it's just in 4 days time!!!

HELP...

(as though I'm even feeling nervous at the moment)

still, look at me now. not studying. one day later. not studying. two days later. still not studying. three days later, i.e. sunday starts to study

i dun think anyone toks to himself, apart from me... not like that at least. all they say is i will start today and they always succeed. so hong king why cant you be like them??

Alright continue with your work.

We have SS/HI/HC/EL to do tonight

and I am confident HC will be finished. EL will be continued. SS can be half done. HI may not be touched (then why did i even write it there in the first place :S)

5:34 p.m. - 2002-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Dear Hong King,

I think you are really underestimating the power of this diary. It might really seem like a waste of time; in fact it is to many people who have a good command of English. However, for me, this has been the place for me to practise writing once in a while, and that is something that I need in order to improve my writing, both in terms of fluency and grammar accuracy.

Well, tar tar for now.

Hong King (again>>!>??!)

8:42 p.m. - 2002-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Oh yes, just now I forgot to mention this point... That I can finally work in peace, knowing I have not much time left. Sounds strange isn't it? But just some time ago (or perhaps mukashi mukashi) I was thinking of how many days there were till the end of the 'O's on the 26th Nov. At that time, it was a huge figure of 43 days, and I was really wondering whether I would have the mental strength to last so long. So in the end I proved myself right once again, that I can't last for more than a week before examinations, because before this one week buffer I would tell myself to study, but never get to it (like now?? hahA). Looks like this is how I work => which means for JC I have to listen carefully in class and really try to convert everything I hear into flesh and blood, otherwise insufficient for examinations...

hk, tired of his inability to conc when the exams are still far far far away (like 7 days)

9:09 a.m. - 2002-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

After I looked at the calendar, I realised that the 'O' level Examinations were in 6 days' time! Perhaps I should be shocked, because as far as I can remember, the last time I looked at the countdown figure, it was still a double-digit number. Most of my precious time had been used to find the dog owner, and for the past few days I have been worrying of death. Although I probably was not even close to death, I felt close to it since there is always an uncertainty to whether the dog was immunised.

So here I am, trying to work again. That leaves me a week, which I think is sufficient, since I did study for my preliminary examinations, though not to a great depth. Geography should be alright, because I have a good grasp of a few topics, so I should have no problem in choosing the topics to mug. As for History, perhaps I have to read more of Wendy Clark, as most of us know, since we have not even touched Japan / End of WW2 in any lesson.

By the way, Sonata No. 5 "Spring" is nice...

Good luck for your Physics practical today. Trust me, electronics will be involved in one of the questions, either a thermistor or a light dependent resistor. Or just a simple Voltage Divider.

8:51 a.m. - 2002-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

i'm not dead after all

according to the owner anyway

hopefully

u noe

when i was so close to death

i was so scared

that i was afraid of being afraid of water

u noe

it's really scary

no guarantee i wunt die

but chances are low.

okok

study

8:37 p.m. - 2002-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Hi

today being my birthday

It could be my last one

all depends on whether i am infected with rabies...

it's really quite sad actually.

anyway i just hope i'm being pessimistic. hopefully. but there is every chance that i haf rabies, cos that dog is crazy. and i cant find the owner.

perhaps it's dis dat's causing me to really make full use of time now. one more week we noe. perhaps i am meant to die early. perhaps. my brain, for all u noe dere's a tumour. den hai...

it's ok

i will not be afraid of death. i've made up my mind. and perhaps it's after the essay that guy wrote for his prelim, abt how living life to its fullest being impt, and not how long. perhaps it was an omen. perhaps

and if i do live beyond next yr to see this entry to find myself silly, count myself lucky

but for this moment, let me say i will leave this world with no regret perhaps just feeling sorry for my parents for having raised me until now...

11:27 p.m. - 2002-10-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: